I’m not actually going to ‘Holland’

If you’re reading this then hopefully you’ve decided to follow me on this strange, exciting, terrifying blogging experience– yippee!

I recently became aware that the terms ‘Holland’ and ‘the Netherlands’ are not actually interchangeable. The Netherlands has 12 provinces kind of like the UK has England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. Two of these provinces are called North Holland and South Holland. If I was going to The Hague or Amsterdam then it would be fair to say that I’m going to Holland, however since I’m going to Utrecht (which is a province in itself) then I have in fact been lying to many of you, for which I am deeply sorry.

Still need things clearing up? Check this out– 

p.s my posts are sure to become much less informative from here on out. I promise.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s