How to pack your life into 40kg

9 days to go and there isn’t much left to do apart from pack. Seems simple enough if you’re going to Uni in the UK… as long as you can fit your stuff into a car then you can’t have too much right? Sadly studying abroad is shaping up to be a bit more complicated. Since Harriet (my totally amazing and beautiful sister) is getting married the day before I leave, the best option seemed to be to fly with all my luggage. The maximum I could take with the airline was 40 kg plus 8 kg of hand luggage. To put that into perspective that’s approximately 48 litres of water, 48,000 paper clips, 96 loaves of bread, about 92% of my own body weight, or 336 apples. Clearly I’m not planning on packing my suitcases full of fruit, nor will I need quite so many paper clips, but you get the picture.

In fact, most of my stuff seems to fit into three categories:

Absolute essentials:

IMG_0203

Things I want to pack but can’t:

IMG_0235

And people I wish were coming with me:

IMG_0214

So if you happen to be in Manchester airport on the 30th of August then keep your eyes peeled for a short-ish blonde girl trying to get a cat through airport security.

Leave a Reply

