A Month Already?

I can’t believe I’ve been here a month already! They say that time flies when you’re having fun, for me time has both flown and also at times gone incredibly slowly but (apart from a few bike related bruises) I’ve made it through the first month unscathed and with lots of good times and new friends (both Dutch and International).

I’ve been fortunate enough to find a great church in City Life Church Utrecht. I already feel so at home there and because of the crazily small world that we live in, I have been lucky enough to meet some great people who also know my sister from her time as a student in Manchester. Even if you never need them, it’s great to know that there are people looking out for you that you can always call on. Although the church is a little different to what I’m used to, most notably that I have to wear headphones to listen to the service being translated into English, I am really looking forward to getting to know more people there as the ones I have met so far are lovely.

The Dutch people make me feel very at home and their kindness and especially their willingness to speak English has not gone unnoticed. Receiving complements on my accent here is an unexpected first and being a native English speaker definitely has its advantages, even if I did still have to take the English Language test on my course (for which the instructions were in Dutch!).

Coming here was a gamble and in honesty, it was one that I was not and could not be fully prepared for but as Wayne Gretzky said:

“You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take”

so far this shot is paying off and I could not be more grateful for the people who supported me in moving here. I’m also unbelievably excited for my sisters and brothers-in-law to visit in November, and to show them this amazing city which is, at least for now, my home.

Leave a Reply

