Table for 5

Family is something which is incredibly important to me. Therefore, showing my sisters and brothers-in-law around my new city was one of the highlights of my year. Having only lived in Utrecht for just over two months I still felt like a tourist for many parts of the weekend but having visitors meant we could do fun, touristy things that I wouldn’t usually do as a student like canal boat tours and exploring parts of the city I hadn’t been to yet. Coffee, cake and beer made up some of the best parts of the weekend along with trying Dutch delicacies such as Bitterballen, some delicious Indonesian food, and all enjoyed with brilliant company. Hearing my family say they liked where I lived and watching them enjoy the place I have come to call my second home was the cherry on top of a fantastic weekend. Even better was being able to hop on a plane at the end of their trip with four of my favourite people and head back to the mighty Sheffield for a week having previously thought I wouldn’t get the chance until Christmas.

Adam and Richard enjoying the first beers of the weekend at Cafe Olivier
Adam and Richard enjoying the first beers of the weekend at Cafe Olivier- a gorgeous old ‘hidden Church’ in the centre of Utrecht
De Bakkerswinkel- amazing for brunch!
De Bakkerswinkel- amazing for brunch!
The best big sisters ever
The best big sisters ever
Leave a Reply

